h1

Wanderlust, I has it

November 18, 2008

My recent frustrations with life in the avenues has sparked my wanderlust in to a raging firestorm. 

Hotels.com sent me an email this morning, asking me to write a review for their Millionth Review Contest.  (Yes, I’m fully aware that they also asked everyone registered with them to do the same.)  The prize?  A trip to Bora Bora. 

bora-bora

Are you kidding me?  I would give my left eyeball for a week in one of those huts, filled with sun, sea and debauchery.  *sigh*  I need to work on finding myself a boy to travel with.  One that will be an adventurer – and not just a vacationer (grrrr UK trip grrr)

BUT… come September ’09 Suzanne and I will be packing our bags and heading someplace incredibly super fabulous:  RIO DE JANEIRO!

Oooh weee – I’ve got about 9,678,285,335 lunges to do before that trip!

If my group at work has made their accruals and our bonuses are going to weather this financial storm, I am going to take Haley on a trip this summer.  The final destination is still to be determined, but Paris is the strong front runner (though I may try to talk her in to some place abroad that may be cheaper – Portugal?)

BIG TRIPS are fabulous without a doubt, but I’m also a huge fan of long weekends.  I find them to be more restorative than the epic adventures:  high impact fun, low impact sleep deprivation :-p

First off… ARIZONA!  Thanksgiving Tofurky with Mom and Clyde *hugs*, quad riding in the desert (Dathan is coming to play, too!), maybe some fishing, lots of playing with the dogs, and hopefully some swimming.

And… I am SO happy to say that I reconnected with a friend from my early days of college – someone who was always a fantastic friend and tons of fun (like a barrel of monkeys – adventure-sport loving monkeys!).  He just so happens to live near Moab.  I haven’t seen much of the red rocked version of desert and I am *dying* to!  It’d be an extra slathering of icing on the cake that I’ll have a kick-ass blast from the past for a tour guide!

So – I figured out how to get paid to ride horses, now I need to figure out how to get paid to travel!

2 comments

  1. Ooo, Emily, you jetsetter, you! Your round the world trip sounds amazing! Hopefully you might be the lucky one picked out to go to Bora Bora as well.

    To get paid to travel you could maybe become a travel writer? Or maybe even charge it to your company and class it as ‘essential staff recouperation’ 😀


  2. ‘essential staff recouperation’ …

    HAHAHA Chris, you slay me! I probably should drum up some work related stress if I’m going to take that tack!

    Here’s hoping all my travel plans play out… really Paris is the only big “maybe”



Leave a Reply

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Starstone/by Veronica Merlin

All content is copyrighted © to Veronica Merlin or Dark Mare Pictures

Camp Run A Muk

When 8 Worlds Collide & More...

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Bend Equine Solutions, LLC

Your Passion is Our Purpose

Rock and Racehorses: The Blog

Sarah K. Andrew, Equine Photographer

Confessions of a Struggling Dressage Rider

How an adult rider manages it all.

A Horse and a Half

A horse woman who can afford one horse…and that horse is retired

TB at X

The dressage journey with ex-racehorses

Collecting Thoroughbreds

The training journal of a re-rider learning dressage

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Zen Doe

down to earth spirituality, down to earth mediumship

Sketchjay

The Art Diary of Dawn Henning, a Brooklyn Artist...

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Don't Switch Off The Light

GO VEGAN BECAUSE ITS THE MORALLY RIGHT THING TO DO

Vegan Lazy

Easy vegan cooking for the terminally lazy

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

