h1

Vegans, reborn

December 15, 2008

Most of you know (but do you care?) that the Girly Fabu-Palace is a vegetarian household, but the matriarch is getting a little tired of being f-a-t.  That, and she works with a very recipe-minded creative vegan who has been feeding her deeeeelish yummy treats 😀

I was reminded that back in my vegan days I ate whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted, and however much I wanted… and my weight never varied more than 5 pounds for years.  Size six, painlessly.

So yesterday The Child and I decided that was the way to go again.  The weight thing is great but really no one in our families has ever died of old age.  Ever.  The Child has diabetes, heart disease, cancer – to name a few – all within 1 or 2 generations.  We have decided to play it safe.  It’s not hard – it can be YUMMY!

vegan-001

We filled the fridge with fruit, veg and whole grains and are looking forward to guilt-free gluttony 😀 Tomorrow night we start after-work/school exercise too.  I figure 30 minutes can’t be that hard, right? 

Oh!  I got a dishwasher!  Check it out!

vegan-003

 

(actually this pic was HER idea!)

2 comments

  1. I wish the best for both of my girls. I know that you both can do something for the weight thing if you are BOTH IN IT FOR THE LONG HAUL. I know it is not easy, but it will so be worth it.
    I like the dishwasher….hope it does a good job! hehe Love to both of you.


  2. Well, Mom, I’m sure your remember I was vegan for a few years last time – broken only due to advanced pregnancy and feeling deprived of all fun. Once I fell off the dairy wagon it’s been hard to get back on, but now I am. It’s done.

    Funny how after only two days my sweet craving is sharply decreased and I didn’t fall asleep immediately after tucking Haley in to bed. I’m actually all rare’d up for exercise tonight.

    I knew dairy gave me those horrid bumps on my arms but I’m wondering, too, if it was screwing with my energy levels. I don’t remember being so dead to the world before, like I have been the last few years, either. Maybe it is just the vitamin boost I’ve gotten from eating better? Who knows – I just hope it’s here to stay! 😀



Leave a Reply

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Starstone/by Veronica Merlin

All content is copyrighted © to Veronica Merlin or Dark Mare Pictures

Camp Run A Muk

When 8 Worlds Collide & More...

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Bend Equine Solutions, LLC

Your Passion is Our Purpose

Rock and Racehorses: The Blog

Sarah K. Andrew, Equine Photographer

Confessions of a Struggling Dressage Rider

How an adult rider manages it all.

A Horse and a Half

A horse woman who can afford one horse…and that horse is retired

TB at X

The dressage journey with ex-racehorses

Collecting Thoroughbreds

The training journal of a re-rider learning dressage

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Zen Doe

down to earth spirituality, down to earth mediumship

Sketchjay

The Art Diary of Dawn Henning, a Brooklyn Artist...

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Don't Switch Off The Light

GO VEGAN BECAUSE ITS THE MORALLY RIGHT THING TO DO

Vegan Lazy

Easy vegan cooking for the terminally lazy

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

