h1

The numbers and the disconnect

May 23, 2011

Number of miles I have run in the month of May:  31.92

Number of miles I have run since I began running:  43.37 (5 weeks)

Number of days I have been religiously logging my calories and exercise:  76

Number of pounds lost:  22

I have been feeling so good and fit and healthy – really for the first time in my life.  It’s not that I’ve never been thin or in decent shape – I have been way too skinny at times and have had a six-pack and serious guns – I just never worked at it before.  I work out regularly and I crave exercise now.  I have had to buy new smaller pants and my wedding dress is having to be altered down by a HUGE amount.

I’ve been pretty proud of myself.

Then I saw a picture of myself yesterday… and it’s amazing how fast all of the above numbers can be wiped out.  No amount of numbers offsets the lumps and bumps and dumpiness I see in my “skinny” jeans. 

I guess that the upside is that I actually contemplated calling in sick to work so I could exercise all day, instead of feeling like saying, “fuck it – I’m eating.

Leave a comment

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Camp Run A Muk

When 8 Worlds Collide & More...

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Bend Equine Solutions, LLC

Your Passion is Our Purpose

Rock and Racehorses: The Blog

Sarah K. Andrew, Equine Photographer

Confessions of a Struggling Dressage Rider

How an adult rider manages it all.

A Horse and a Half

A horse woman who can afford one horse…and that horse is retired

TB at X

The dressage journey with ex-racehorses

Collecting Thoroughbreds

The training journal of a re-rider learning dressage

Sketchjay

The Art Diary of Dawn Henning, a Brooklyn Artist...

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Vegan Lazy

Easy vegan cooking for the terminally lazy

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

happsters.wordpress.com/

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

Gnstr's blog

a brisk walk through a canine's mind

zaccon40

The official blog of Zac Conforti

Mucking Moms

Horse Showing, Stall Mucking, Kid Raising, Garden Growing, Animal Rearing, Creative Crafting, Home Cooking, Penny Pinching, Coupon Clipping, Family Loving Moms

South Forty Farms

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends