h1

Weekend Update

April 15, 2013

To say this weekend was busy would be an understatement.

Friday night was date night. Just me, my husband, two friends and four thousand rowdy hockey fans. We hoped our beloved San Francisco Bulls would stay alive in the playoffs in their inaugural season… but it didn’t happen. We still had fun – and GO BULLS next year!

Next weekend I am running in my first ever race. It’s a 5k but I’m not smart and starting off with just a plain 5k – I’m going a trails challenge. Why? I have NO IDEA. I blame Janette 😉

So I got up bright and early for my long run. I intended to run four miles. I was positive that Lake Merced was 4 miles around, on the dot, if I didn’t take the short-cut bridge. Whoopsie – it was almost 5.

I survived. Barely.

I survived. Barely.

The Husband picked me up and we headed out to breakfast.

Ok - that really looks good despite all the animal inconvenience.

Ok – that really looks good despite all the animal inconvenience.

Then we met Ronda and Richard for a double-date at the driving range. We are a funsome foursome, for sure!

IMG_20130413_105250_793

After lunch I took The Husband back home so he could watch MOAR HOCKEYS and nap before his graveyard shift – then I headed to the barn with Jess. It’s so great – she has a great interest in learning the training part of riding and wanted to be my shadow at the barn. She’s the very best kind of sponge and I get to raise a mini-me that will allow me to take a weekend off with my family and know that my horses are under her loving guidance 😀

Magic continued to blow me away.

After that full day it’s really no surprise I was out cold by 9p 😉

Sunday was a slightly later start. I stopped in Vacaville and took my hand-me-down Tony Slatter dressage saddle (it’s brown!) to a saddle maker to be restuffed and repaired. I had decided I only wanted to put $300 into it – otherwise I’d just buy a used Wintec. The lovely man talked some sense into me. Spend $600 for a used Wintec that has 10 years in it – or put $600 into a saddle that’s got 30 years left in it. Ok – fine. I will be the proud owner of a totally rebuilt and classic BROWN saddle in 6-8 weeks. (The thought of a brown saddle on my sable brown gelding – or chestnut mare – is totally swoonable!)

After picking up Haley I went back to the barn. Molly was aghast – she said Magic’s #4 ride looked more like #45. I think I agree!

[youtube:www.youtube.com/watch?v=cH5WUD5X5uc]

We are actually doing straight lines! And circles! And even some leg-yielding at the walk! Oh – and STANDING QUIETLY!!

I am convinced he’s pretty much a super-genius super-athlete!! 😀

Then Jess got on – and he was totally unfazed by a change in rider. I schooled the Pones some and we all went out for a ride around the roads at the barn. You can see – he’s one of those totally crazy OTTBs – totally unsafe at any speed 😉

IMG_20130414_173448_272

Who’s more laid back? The OTTB or the Paint? I think it’s a toss-up!
(I know it was NOT the pony I was on! 😉 )

Yes – I am 100% positive this horse – a winning race horse – is going to be the poster child for life after the track.

Also – my life is goooooooood.

5 comments

  1. Magic is looking, well, magical!!


    • Doesn’t he??? 😀


  2. He’s gorgeous. I want him, haha. 😉 Perhaps this will be Sheldon after his racing career!


    • Hey – I will restart anyone for you! Send him on down!


      • And no, you may not have my lil Magic 😀 Our fear of the Storm Cat line was totally unfounded. YAY!



Leave a Reply

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Starstone/by Veronica Merlin

All content is copyrighted © to Veronica Merlin or Dark Mare Pictures

Camp Run A Muk

When 8 Worlds Collide & More...

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Bend Equine Solutions, LLC

Your Passion is Our Purpose

Rock and Racehorses: The Blog

Sarah K. Andrew, Equine Photographer

Confessions of a Struggling Dressage Rider

How an adult rider manages it all.

A Horse and a Half

A horse woman who can afford one horse…and that horse is retired

TB at X

The dressage journey with ex-racehorses

Collecting Thoroughbreds

The training journal of a re-rider learning dressage

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Zen Doe

down to earth spirituality, down to earth mediumship

Sketchjay

The Art Diary of Dawn Henning, a Brooklyn Artist...

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Don't Switch Off The Light

GO VEGAN BECAUSE ITS THE MORALLY RIGHT THING TO DO

Vegan Lazy

Easy vegan cooking for the terminally lazy

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

